Tehran Taboo



Iranian society under fire 





Ernest and Celestine, Wolf Children win at NYICFF 2013
Tuesday, 19 March 2013 15:22

nyicff-statuette500The New York International Children's Film Festival announces its winners. See the awards for animated films.


The César-awarded French feature film, Ernest et Celestine (Renner/Patar/Aubier dir.) [info-trailer] won the Grand Prize Feature of the 2013 NYICFF.


Mamoru Hosoda's (The Girl who Leapt Through Time, Summer Wars) new feature Wolf Children [info-trailer] won the Audience Award.


Special jury award (best animated short) for the Encounters-awarded film I am Tom Moody (Ainslie Henderson, UK).


NYICFF is an Academy®-qualifying festival, and  I am Tom Moody is now eligible for consideration for the Academy Awards® in the category of short animated film.


The awards were presented at the annual NYICFF Awards Ceremony this past Sunday, March 17 at the Directors Guild of America Theater in Manhattan.


The festival continues through 24th March.


Visit and see all the awards (including awards for live-action films) and the festival jury below:



Grand Prize Feature

Ernest & Celestine, Stéphane Aubier/Vincent Patar/Benjamin Renner, France, 2012, 79 min

Audience Award Features

Starry Starry Night, Tom Shu-yu Lin, Taiwan, 2011, 98 min

Wolf Children, Mamoru Hosoda, Japan, 2012, 117 min

Audience Award Features

Starry Starry Night, Tom Shu-yu Lin, Taiwan, 2011, 98 min

Wolf Children, Mamoru Hosoda, Japan, 2012, 117 min

Special Jury Awards

Best Animated Short – I Am Tom Moody, Ainslie Henderson, UK, 2012, 7 min

Best Live Action Short – The Runaway, Victor Carrey, Spain, 2011, 11 min

Audience Award Short Films

Grand Prize Short Film – Snack Attack, Andrew Cadelago, USA, 2012, 4.5 min

Ages 3-6 – The Little Bird and the Leaf, Lena von Döhren, Switzerland, 2011, 4 min

Audience Award, Ages 5-10 – Snack Attack, Andrew Cadelago, USA, 2012, 4.5 min

Audience Award, Ages 8-14 – The Vacuum Kid, Katharine Mahalic, USA, 2011, 10 min

Audience Award, Ages 12-18 - Song of the Spindle, Drew Christie, USA/Australia, 2011, 4 min

Parents Award - Lola, Franck Janin, France, 2011, 6.5 min



·  John Canemaker – Academy Award®-winning animator

·  Geena Davis – Academy Award®-winning actor (The Accidental Tourist, Thelma & Louise)

·  Tomm Moore – Academy Award® nominated animator/director (The Secret of Kells)

·  Lynne McVeigh – Associate Professor of Children’s Media at NYU Tisch School of the Arts

·  Matthew Modine –Award-winning actor (Full Metal Jacket, The Dark Knight Rises)

·  Dana Points – Editor-in-Chief, Parents Magazine

·  Susan Sarandon – Academy Award®-winning actor (Dead Man Walking, Arbitrage)

·   James Schamus – Award-winning writer/producer (Brokeback Mountain, The Ice Storm)

·  Evan Shapiro – President, Participant Television

·   Christine Vachon – Award-winning producer (Boys Don’t Cry, Mildred Pierce)

·   Gus Van Sant – Academy Award® nominated director (Milk, Good Will Hunting)

·  Taika Waititi – Academy Award® nominated writer/director (Two Cars One Night, Boy)

·   Jeffrey Wright – Award-winning actor (Basquiat, The Ides of March)

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
smaller | bigger

Last Updated on Thursday, 13 June 2013 18:47