Tehran Taboo



Iranian society under fire 





New York International Children's Film Festival 2015: Call for entries
Tuesday, 03 June 2014 16:10


New York International Children's Film Festival 2015 is launching call for submissions.


The 8th edition of New York International Children’s Film Festival (NYICFF) will take place from 27 February to 22 March 2015.


It is an Oscar®-qualifying Festival in the Best Live Action and Animated Short Film categories and its jury includes actors Susan Sarandon, Geena Davis and Jeffrey Wright, filmmakers Christine Vachon, James Schamus and Gus Van Sant and animators Bill Plympton, John Canemaker and Henry Selick, among others.


“Last year’s Festival was an illustration of the incredibly rich diversity – both visually and culturally – of the type of filmmaking that we love to present,” said Festival co-founder and artistic director Eric Beckman.


“Many films find a new, unintended but captive, audience in children. For the 2015 Festival, we will continue pushing boundaries and redefining films for kids. We look forward with great enthusiasm to watching thousands of submissions from the newest crop of films and filmmakers.”


According to NYICFF, Short Films are works with running time less than 40 minutes in length, while Features Films are works with running time 40 minutes in length or longer.


NYICFF accepts both Short Films and Feature Films that have been completed no earlier than 1 January 2013.


The early submission dealine for Short Films is 8 September 2014 and the entry fee is $40, while the final submission deadline is 6 October with an $60-entry fee. The fee of the student films received by 6 October 2014 is $25.


The early submission deadline for Feature Films is 6 October 2014 with a $75-entry fee, while the final submission deadline is 10 November and the entry fee is $100. Student films are charged with a $50-entry fee and their submission dealine is 10 November 2014.


If you are interested, read the regulations for Short Films and for Feature Films regulations and apply online either for the first or for the second category.


Last edition's winners can be found here.




Last Updated on Tuesday, 03 June 2014 17:14