For Animation Filmmakers:


  • Have an animation short to premiere/feature online, and need a comprehensive presentation (in the form of interview/review)? Zippy Frames is a trusted independent animation news website, which has featured a vast array of short animation films, from the more narrative to the outright experimental ones. Send us your film for consideration

⇒ Here's more info how to submit  


  • We address the story aspects of your animation film; we examine its theme, plot structure, characters, context, in accordance with your already stated idea and director's own intentions. We come up with solutions to story problems you face, and provide examples of fine practices for your project.

⇒ Here's more info


  • Animation festival submission seems both a laborious and a mindless process for independent animation filmmakers. We can make the process seem more structured, less laborious and more promising for your festival career of your film - handled by the same people who manage Zippy Frames (via Scheriaa Productions)

⇒ Here's more info

For Animation and Film Festivals & Events Professionals


  • Zippy Frames hosts an extended database of call for entries from animation festivals. A large part of its news roundup covers animation festivals and film festival news. However, not everything can be covered with the same depth and extent as it could (and should) have been. If you're interested in getting in talks and an offer for a festival promotion agreement, contact our Head Editor (vassilis AT zippyframes DOT com)


  • For festivals, conferences, film promotions, companies and products related to the animation industry, we offer reviews, interviews or video reports that promote your services or products in a creative and friendly way. For more info, email: info AT zippyframes DOT com



ASIFA-Hollywood announced nominations today for its 48th Annual Annie Awards recognizing the year’s best in the field of animation.

This year’s Best Animated Feature nominations include: Onward (Pixar Animation Studios), Soul (Pixar Animation Studios), The Croods: A New Age (DreamWorks Animation), The Willoughbys (Netflix Presents A BRON Animation Production in association with Creative Wealth Media) and Trolls World Tour (DreamWorks Animation).

Annie Awards feature a separate category for Best Animated Feature - Independent, spotlighting features with a much smaller distribution footprint than major studio releases. The nominees are:

  • Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon (Studiocanal and Aardman present in association with Anton Capital Entertainment An Aardman Production for Netflix)
  • Calamity Jane (Maybe Movies)
  • On-Gaku: Our Sound (Rock’n Roll Mountain, Tip Top)
  • Ride Your Wave (Science SARU)
  • Wolfwalkers (Cartoon Saloon/Melusine).

Wolfwalkers by Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart scored a total of 10 Annie Award nominations,  the same number of nominations as Pixar's Soul.

Notable Absences:

  • The Accidental Luxuriance of the Translucent Watery Rebus
  • Kill It and Leave this Town

Don Hertzfeldt, Bastien Dubois (Souvenir, Souvenir), Kangmin Kim (KKUM), Marie Jacotey and Lola Halifa-Legrand  (Fille Bleues, Peur Blanche), and the Cake comedy The Places Where We live compete for Best Short Subject

Best Short Subject:

  • Filles Bleues, Peur Blanche (Miyu Productions)
  •  KKUM (open the portal) Read the review of KKUM at Zippy Frames
  • Souvenir Souvenir (Blast Production)
  • The Places Where We Live (Cake) (FX Productions and FX)
  • World of Tomorrow Episode Three: The Absent Destinations of David Prime Don Hertzfeldt

Notable Absences:

  • Altötting, Andreas Hykade
  • Just A Guy, Shoko Hara
  • My Galactic Twin Galaction, Sasha Svirsky

Best Special Production

Best Student Film

  • 100,000 Acres of Pine Student director: Jennifer Alice Wright (School: The Animation Workshop)
  • Coffin Student director: Yuanqing Cai, Nathan Crabot, Houzhi Huang, Mikolaj Janiw, Mandimby Lebon, Théo Tran Ngoc  (School: Gobelins, l'école de l'image)
  • La Bestia Student director: Marlijn Van Nuenen, Ram Tamez, Alfredo Gerard Kuttikatt (School: Gobelins, l'école de l'image)
  • Latitude du printemps Student director: Sylvain Cuvillier, Chloé Bourdic, Théophile Coursimault, Noémie Halberstam, Ma?lis Mosny, Zijing Ye (School: Rubika)
  • O Black Hole! Student director: Renee Zhan Student producer: Jesse Romain (School: National Film and Television School, UK)

We had no idea what to expect going into award season. To then see a year where we had more submissions than ever before was a huge and most welcome surprise. Though it might have initially seemed a little counter-intuitive, now we are approaching the Annies with optimism and the new year with a renewed sense of community - Frank Gladstone, Annies executive producer.

Juried Awards will also be presented during the ceremony, honoring unparalleled achievement and exceptional contributions to animation. The Winsor McCay Award for career contributions to the art of animation are being presented to three recipients – Willie Ito; Posthumously to Sue Nichols; and Bruce Smith.

The June Foray Award for significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation will be awarded to animator and art director, Daisuke “Dice” Tsutsumi. The Ub Iwerks Award for technical advancement that has made a significant impact on the art and industry of animation will be presented to Epic Games for its Unreal Engine; and The Special Achievement Award recognizing the unique and significant impact on the art and industry of animation will be presented to Howard, the documentary about lyricist and storyteller, the late Howard Ashman.

 This year’s ceremony of Annie Awards will be streamed live, courtesy of Variety on Friday, April 16 at 7 p.m. PST.

Want to read more free articles like this?

Keep this professional animation journalism effort relevant and updated. Become our patron


Support Zippy Frames

Keep this professional animation journalism effort relevant and updated. Become a Zippy Frames patron