The new European Animation Awards will effectively substitute the award for Best European Short film, as announced by  CARTOON General Director Marc Vandeweyer.

It seems it has been the result of long gestations and talks.

The CARTOON D' OR Award (created in 1991) was meant to be a pan-European award for animation short films, rewarding each year only prize-winning films from a selection of partner festivals.

Past recipients include Nick Park, Mark Baker, Michaël Dudok de Wit, Sylvain Chomet, Jacques-Rémy Girerd, Joanna Quinn, Benjamin Renner, Stéphane Aubier, Vincent Patar. The 2016 winner was Gabriel Harel for Yul and the Snake.

But the announcement of the new European Animation Awards (EAA), an initiative driven by Didier Brunner, Jean-Paul Commin, with Peter Lord as its president, was also supposed to cover similar ground in terms of awards.

The new Émile awards include separate competition categories for Best European Animated Short Film (in a total of 16 categories overall).

As Cartoon Director Marc Vandewyer says, there would be no sense in having 2 different European Awards for the best animated short film and it is better to group all the European awards during one same evening.

CARTOON will support the new initiative, whose first ceremony takes place  Friday 8th December 2017 in Lille, France.