The Physics of Sorrow, Calamity win at Annecy Festival 2020. All winners.

Feature Films:

Corinne DESTOMBES, Head of Development, Folimage / France
Benoit PAVAN, Journalist, Agence France-Presse / France
Dominique SEUTIN, Director, Anima Festival / Belgium

Cristal for a Feature Film: Calamity, A Childhood of Mary Jane Canary by Rémi Chayé

Jury Award: The Nose or the Conspiracy of Mavericks" - Andrey Khrzhanovsky

Jury Mention: Kill It and Leave this Town by Mariusz Wilczynski

Contrechamp Competition

Blies brothers (Nicolas Blies & Stéphane Hueber-Blies), Writers-Directors, a_BAHN, Luxembourg
Abi FEIJO, Producer, Director / Portugal
Joanna PRIESTLEY, Director, Priestley Motion Pictures / USA

Contrechamp Award: My Favorite War - Ilze Burkovska Jacobsen

Contrechamp Jury Distinction: The Shaman Sorceress by Jae-huun Ahn

Short Films:

Matt KASZANEK, Director, Animation Is Film Festival, USA
Naomi VAN NIEKERK, Director, Dryfsand / South Africa
Denis WALGENWITZ, Director / France

Cristal for a Short Film: The Physics of Sorrow, Theodore Ushev

Jury Award: Homeless Home by Alberto Vázquez

"Jean-Luc Xiberras" Award for First Film: The Town by Yifan Bao

Jury Distinction (ex aequo): Genius Loci by Adrien Merigeau and Freeze Frame by Soetkin Verstegen

"Off-Limits" Award: Serial Parallels by  Max Hattler

TV and Commissioned Films

Marco DE BLOIS, Artistic Director, Les Sommets du cinéma d’animation / Canada
Jeong Dahee JEONG,  Director & Producer, Between The Pictures / South Korea
Diane LAUNIER, Managing Director, Art Ludique Le Musée / France

Cristal for a TV Production:  "L’Odyssée de Choum (Shoom's Odyssey) by Julien Bisaro

Jury Award for a TV Serial: "Undone "The Hospital""  by Hisko Hulsing

Jury Award for a TV Special: "The Tiger Who Came to Tea" - Robin Shaw

Cristal for a Commissioned Film: "Lucky Chops "Traveler"" - Daniel Almagor, Raman Djafari

Jury Award for a Commissioned Film: Greenpeace "Turtle Journey"" by Gavin Strange

Graduation Films:

Jury: Graduation Films & Off-Limits Short Films

Signe BAUMANE, Director & Producer, My Love Affair With Marriage / USA/Latvia
Jeannette BONDS, Festival Co-Founder & Director, Director & Producer / GLAS Animation, B&B Pictures / Panama/USA
Thomas RENOLDNER, Director & Head of Selection, Animation Avantgarde at Vienna Shorts Filmfestival / Austria

Cristal for a Graduation Film:  Naked by Kirill Khachaturov

Jury Award: Pile by Toby Auberg

Jury Distinction: Sura by Hae-Ji Jeong

VR Works:

Myriam ACHARD, Chief, New Media Partnerships & PR, Centre PHI / Canada
Mathias CHELEBOURG, Writer-Director, France, USA
Brandon OLDENBURG, Chief Creative Officer, Flight School Studio /USA

Cristal for the Best VR Work: Minimum Mass - Raqi Syed, Areito Echevarria

Jury Special Distinction for a VR film: Battlescar: Punk Was Invented By Girls

Want to read more free articles like this?

Keep this professional animation journalism effort relevant and updated. Become our patron