See the awards of the 2014 Anima festival.

 Futon by Yoriko Mizushiri won the Grand Prix at the 2014 Anima festival.  The 6-minute Japanese film brings into focus a woman's perspective into her own body and memory. The film was awarded at the 2013 Hiroshima Int'l Festival and 2013 Stuttgart Animation Festival.


 A special mention was given to the US film Marcel, King of Tervuren by Tom Schroeder.

 Wind by Robert Löbel won the award for best student film [read the Zippy Frames review] , while the UK film Somewhere by Nicolas Ménard  was the runner-up (Special Jury Mention) .

The stop-motion Boles (Spela Cadez) won the Audience Award for best short film, and the adult-themed L' Arte Della Felicita [review] was selected as the audience favorite for best feature.

 The new animated film Cheatin' by Bill Plympton received the BeTV Partner's Award for Best Animated Feature.

 The full winners' list:

International competition

  • Grand Prix Anima 2014 provided by the Brussels Capital Region (2500€): Futon by Yoriko Mizushiri, Japan
    Special mention: Marcel, King of Tervuren by Tom Schroeder USA
  • Award for Best Student Short Film provided by Toon Boom(Toon Boom Harmony Autonome and Storyboard Pro software licences): Wind by Robert Löbel,  Germany
    Special mention: Somewhere by Nicolas Ménard, UK
  • Award for Best Children's Short Film (Radio Bobo jury): Le Père Frimas by Youri Tcherenkov, France
  • Audience Award for Best Short Film, provided by Fluxys (2.500€): Boles by Spela Cadez, Slovenia/Germany
  • Audience Award for Best Animated Feature, provided by FedEx (FedEx credit, worth 2.500 €): L' Arte della Felicità by Alessandro Rak,  Italy
  • Audience Award for Best Children's Short Film: The Snowman and the Snowdog by Hilary Audus,  UKAnimation Night
  • Audience Award for Best Short Film: Rollin' Safari by Kyra Buschor, Anna Habermehl, Constantin Päplow
  • Audience Award for Best Children's Animated Feature: Ma Maman est en Amérique, elle a rencontré Buffalo Bill by Marc Boréal and Thibaut Chatel, France/Luxemburg

Partners Awards:

BeTV Award for Best Animated Feature: Cheatin' by Bill Plympton,  USA

National Competition

  • Grand Prix de la Fédération Wallonie, Bruxelles (2.500 €): Autour du Lac by Noémie Marsily and Carl Roosesn
  • SABAM Award (2.500€): La Buche de Noël by Vincent Patar and Stéphane Aubier
  • SACD Award (2.500 €): Mia by Wouter Bongaerts
  • TVPaint Award for Best Belgian Student Short Film (TVPaint software licence): Rêves de Brume by Sophie Racine

Special mention: Diamant by Kris Mergan and Geert Vandenbroele


Partners Awards:

  • BeTv Award (1.500 € including acquisition of broadcasting rights): 850 meters by Joeri Christiaen RTBF
  • La Trois Award (acquisition of broadcasting rights): Rêves de Brume by Sophie Racine
  • Cinergie Award (Electronic Press Kit): Rêves de Brume by Sophie Racine

About us

Zippy Frames is the premier online animation journal promoting European and Independent Animation animation since 2011.

Managed for all purposes by Scheriaa Productions
[email protected]
© All rights reserved 2011-2021


Our newsletter Protection Status